Ric Menck

Ric Menck, The Ballad of Ric Menck (Download)

Last night I drove to my parents’ house to pick up old W-2’s (tax season!) and to give my dad a copy of Big Star’s In Space, because Drew and I had been listening to it in the car the other day and I couldn’t get over how much it sounded like something my dad would like. Then I drove home, sat down in front of the computer, and saw that Alex Chilton had passed away just days before Big Star was slated to reunite for SXSW. I was planning on posting some songs from In Space yesterday, because they seemed like perfect underrated spring time jams — good for driving around in tentative windows-down weather, but now it seems sort of weird to do that.

Instead, I’m posting Ric Menck’s classic The Ballad of Ric Menck. Ric Menck was a member of the Velvet Crush & now plays with a power pop super group called Magic Christian. Ric Menck’s work is one of the things that came to mind while Drew and I were listening to In Space. The Ballad of Ric Menck collects 11 of Menck’s non-Velvet Crush singles, including the songs he released with the Springfields for Sarah Records.

If you download this & like it, I definitely suggest that you check out the Velvet Crush’s album, Teenage Symphonies to God (which has one of my all-time favorite album titles & covers) as well as Menck’s work with Magic Christian.

Ric Menck, The Ballad of Ric Menck (Download)

About K.

25 year old book, comic, zine, and record enthusiast. Favorite things include: 7"s, books about teen sleuths, and rabbits.
This entry was posted in pop, sarah records, summershine records. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

