The Wendy Darlings

The Wendy Darlings, “Zero Zero Seven” (DOWNLOAD)

First: I’ve got a huge backlog of reviews to get through, so I’m really sorry if you’ve e-mailed me about something and I haven’t gotten back to you! I was e-mailed about this Wendy Darlings 7” back in the first week of July and am just now getting to it! (In all fairness, I did just move and have been working on cleaning the new house, getting the old house ready for an inspection, unpacking everything, etc.)

Second: I’m slowly, slowly working my way through the releases that have been e-mailed/regular mailed to me. If you’ve sent something my way, I promise that I’ll get to it. It might just take awhile. Sorry!

Third: The Wendy Darlings. Back in April, The Wendy Darlings released a new 7” on UK label/mail order Marineville Records. The 7” has four new songs and they were kind enough to send an electronic version my way so that I could write a little bit about it here.

“Zero Zero Seven,” the first song on the 7” is a ramshackle blast that reminds me of Tiger Trap or Heavenly with a heavy, heavy dose of sixties pop. This is a song that could find an easy home on many mix tapes. “Seven Years Bad Luck” takes the sonic intensity down a notch, but remains lyrically heartfelt and heavily indebted to fifties/sixties pop, sounding not unlike an indie pop version of Little Anthony’s “Tears On My Pillow.” The b-side is just as strong as the a-side, particularly the closing track, “Suffer Girl,” which clocks in at just under two minutes

Here’s a video for “Sunday So Bored” from the b-side of the new 7”:

You can get the new Wendy Darlings 7” direct from Marineville.

The Wendy Darlings on MySpace

The Wendy Darlings, “Zero Zero Seven” (DOWNLOAD)

About K.

25 year old book, comic, zine, and record enthusiast. Favorite things include: 7"s, books about teen sleuths, and rabbits.
This entry was posted in album review, pop. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

