Music Diary Project (Saturday)

  • Mix CD (10 songs)

I still have the same mix CD in my car, so I listen to Nicki Minaj, Allo Darlin, Blink 182, etc. When I’m in the car I like to listen to songs that I know the words to, so I burn CDs of current favorite songs and then listen to them over and over. Drew hates this uncategorically.

  • Evan Dando, Baby I’m Bored

Still in the car, I eschew the mix in favor of an Evan Dando solo album that I bought used for a dollar. It’s ok. It’s not as good as Car Button Cloth, which is probably my favorite Lemonheads album.

  • Cornershop, When I Was Born for the 7th Time

After the Dando album is over, I have a few minutes left in the car, so I put on a Cornershop album. I only make it through the first three songs or so. I forgot how good “Brimful of Asha” sounds on a sunny day.

  • Orange Juice, You Can’d Hide Your Love Forever

After I finish my errands, I pick up Drew and we go out for dinner. He hates Cornershop, so he puts on Orange Juice. I say that I can’t stand Orange Juice and, for some reason, he is surprised to hear me say this. He says that if I hate it so much, I should pick out something else to listen to. I complain about how he doesn’t have any good music on his iPod.

  • Desaparecidos, Read Music/Speak Spanish

I finally settle on the Desaparecidos album. “Man and Woman, The Former (Financial Planning)” remains one of my favorite songs. We talk through most of the album, but I can’t remember what we talked about.

  • Various Artists, 180° South: Conquerors of the Useless Original Soundtrack

Drew picks up the above soundtrack for like a dollar at a Borders that’s going out of business. I’m not into it at all, but the music is easy to ignore. I think this is the last thing that we listen to, maybe.

About K.

25 year old book, comic, zine, and record enthusiast. Favorite things include: 7"s, books about teen sleuths, and rabbits.
This entry was posted in Music Diary Project. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Music Diary Project (Saturday)

  1. Brittany says:

    I always love getting into your car and hearing your current fave mixtapes!

Leave a Reply

