Covers Mix


Yesterday a bunch of the people that I follow on tumblr were posting amazing cover songs & I got so stoked on the idea of listening to covers that I spent my day listening to covers and fine-tuning (well, not too finely-tuning) this mix of 30 cover songs.

(DOWNLOAD IT)

The tracklist is as follows:

  1. Barracuda (Live) – Rasputina (Heart)
  2. Tangerine – The Thermals (Led Zeppelin)
  3. What is Life (Live) – Built to Spill (George Harrison)
  4. Cupid’s Trick (Live) – Lou Barlow w/ The Minders (Elliott Smith)
  5. Shock Me – Red House Painters (Kiss)
  6. Your Love – The Butchies (The Outfield)
  7. Monkey Gone to Heaven – Bonfire Madigan (Pixies)
  8. More Than A Feeling – Sleater Kinney (Boston)
  9. Don’t Fear the Reaper (Live) – Elliott Smith (Blue Oyster Cult)
  10. Don’t Stop Believin’ – Petra Haden (Journey)*
  11. The Sign (Live) – The Mountain Goats (Ace of Base)**
  12. If You Leave – Free Loan Investments (OMD)
  13. Will You Still Love Me Tomorrow – Mo Tucker (The Shirelles)
  14. Pleasant Valley Sunday – Marykate O’Neill (The Monkees)
  15. (Don’t Go Back To) Rockville – J Church (R.E.M)
  16. Fist City (Live) – Best Coast (Loretta Lynn)
  17. Atlantic City – Allo Darlin (Bruce Springsteen)
  18. Cherry Bomb – Bratmobile (The Runaways)
  19. Alone In A Crowd – Los Lobos (Johnny Thunders)
  20. I Woke Up With This Song In My Head This Morning – Bright Eyes (The Bruces)***
  21. Take On Me – Cap’n Jazz (A Ha)
  22. Indian Summer – Captain America (Beat Happening)
  23. Police and Thieves – The Clash (Junior Murvin)
  24. Love is All Around – Husker Du (Mary Tyler Moore theme)
  25. In Accordance to Natural Law – Los Campesinos! (Bikini Kill)
  26. Digital Love – Miracle Fortress (Daft Punk)
  27. Valentine – The Sissies (The Replacements)
  28. San Andreas – Snoozer (Portastatic)
  29. Skulls – Sour Grapes (The Misfits)
  30. Gin and Juice – Sissy Bar (Snoop Dogg)****

(DOWNLOAD IT)

* Choosing between Petra’s cover and Marnie Stern’s cover was no easy task!

** I have a few versions of The Mountain Goats performing this & it was legitimately difficult to pick just one, but this for real might be my favorite (though it’s in close competition with a studio live version where John talks about buying Ace of Base’s album on cassette in Columbus, OH while on tour and developing a choreographed dance to the song that they performed for the entirety of their drive.)

*** Bright Eyes played this as an encore when Drew and I saw them ten million years ago.

**** Normally I am not into cheeky indie pop covers of rap songs, mainly because I get all wound up thinking about racial power dynamics and blah, blah, blah, but I like this cover and like to think that it was born out of a genuine love for the original.

About K.

25 year old book, comic, zine, and record enthusiast. Favorite things include: 7"s, books about teen sleuths, and rabbits.
This entry was posted in covers, mix. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Covers Mix

  1. Jess A says:

    Oh, wow. YOU ARE THE GREATEST. My day = MADE.

    • K. says:

      Thanks for commenting, Jess! Covers are my favorite — it was hard to pick only thirty. (BTW, if you don’t already have them, there’s a few more of those Lou Barlow Elliott Smith covers from the same set — he plays like 6 Elliott songs. I’d be happy to upload them for you if you don’t already have them & would like to.)

      • Jess A says:

        They’re mine, too! I made a covers mix years back, and have been meaning to make a “volume 2” mix, but somehow I have not managed to actually do that yet.

        I would love to have those other Barlow covers! I have a big pile of Elliott Smith covering other artists (and covers by of Montreal, as well). I should sift through and find the ones that actually have decent sound quality for sharing.

  2. Erica says:

    I had no idea about that Rasputina cover: my mind is blown! The rest of these look great, too. The mix cover is so nice, too. Thanks for sharing!

    p.s. My SP button is proudly affixed to my trench coat.

    • K. says:

      Rasputina does a lot of great “classic rock” covers. Every time I’ve seen them they’ve done a “classic rock” portion of their show. They also do a great cover of Belle and Sebastian’s “Fox in the Snow” and The Pretenders’ “I Go to Sleep.” I don’t listen to a ton of Rasputina these days, but they’re so much fun to see live!

      I’m glad the button & zines made it to you safely!

  3. Emily says:

    I’d forgotten about the Sleater-Kinney cover of More than a Feeling!! You made my day. Thanks. 🙂

Leave a Reply

