Give Away! Wild Flag

Hey pals, I’m still not ready to be posting full time (my new job is great and I love it, but my boyfriend and I still have to pack all of our stuff and move it to a new apartment), but I’m temporarily popping out of hibernation because my aforementioned boyfriend texted me this afternoon to let me know that Wild Flag will be playing in Cleveland this October and I’m so stoked that I can’t even handle it, but anyway, beyond Wild Flag being in Cleveland, you can now preorder their forthcoming full-length album from the Merge webstore (link here).  Pre-orders will ship on or around the album’s September 13th street date and will come with a poster while supplies last.

To promote their album, Wild Flag will be embarking on a major tour. Dates can be seen here (just scroll to the bottom, artists are listed alphabetically.)

To celebrate all of this, I’m giving a way a copy of Wild Flag’s sold-out Future Crimes/Glass Tambourine 7”. I was lucky enough to score two copies and want to spread the joy. To enter, just leave a comment here with your name, e-mail address, and favorite Wild Flag-related song (meaning any favorite song by Sleater Kinney, Mary Timony, Spells, Minders, Quasi, etc. etc. etc.) To get you started, here’s a sampling of some of my favorite songs that members of Wild Flag have played a part in:

(Sleater Kinney, One More Hour)

(Mary Timony, Blood Tree)

(The Minders, Hooray for Tuesday]

(Stephen Malkmus and the Jicks, Gardenia)

I’ll be closing comments on this post on Friday, July 29th at midnight, EST. Until then, comment away!

About K.

25 year old book, comic, zine, and record enthusiast. Favorite things include: 7"s, books about teen sleuths, and rabbits.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Give Away! Wild Flag

  1. Tori says:

    I am running the risk of not exactly fulfilling the brief, but I’m going to say that my favourite Wild Flag related ‘song’ is the Sara Lund/Janet Weiss drum battle. I like to have it on when I’m working so I certainly listen to it as a ‘song’!

    Pick me! I just got a new record player and everything!

    • K. says:

      Hi Tori! Your # came up when I ran the random number generator this morning. I’ll be e-mailing you in just a second to request your mailing address!

      K

  2. alexcornetto says:

    Alex Wisgard, alex[dot]wisgard[at]gmail[dot]com (no, spambots, no!). Favourite Wild Flag-related song is probably ‘Leave You Behind’ by Sleater-Kinney. It’s my favourite S-K song anyway, even though it’s really atypical. They never quite wrote a song like this before or since, and it stands out like a sore thumb in their catalogue…but, like, a really beautiful, awesome sore thumb.

  3. My favourite is Little Babies by Sleater Kinney. For the dum dum ditties of course! Kate Dansette, patsydecline at gmail dot com.

  4. annka says:

    yes, great. big envy that you get the chance of seeing them live in cleveland this fall. my favourite sleater-kinney song is modern girl, especially the burn to shine-version, that prominently features a window. annka: annkathrin.mogge at googlemail.com

  5. Adam says:

    Ok. Let’s go back to 1994. The song is “XXX” from Mary Timony’s old band Helium. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aZdimaf-YsE

  6. blankdrug says:

    Since this is like choosing a favorite child, I’ll just go with “Dragonfly Pie” cuz I love to sing “Ghostly Iraqis in starships!” even though that may be only ~90% accurate (I’ve heard it’s “Iraqi and starship,” but that’s nonsensical). Timothy Piunno. robertfordwins at gmail.com.

Leave a Reply

