The Coathangers, Larceny & Old Lace

During the summer months it’s easy for me to get locked on to my essential summer jams (which, so far this summer, have been a mix of new songs from Stephen Malkmus, Fucked Up, and Wild Flag and old favorites from fIREHOSE and Cadallaca.) I know I’ve talked about this before, but for someone who fancies themselves to be a music blogger (VOM), it’s pretty hard for me to actually listen to new music and absorb it in a meaningful way, so when I received an e-mail about the recent album from The Coathangers, I let it linger in my inbox for a long time (anyone who has ever read anything on this blog before is probably not surprised by that statement.)

But, this afternoon, after a long day at work and an evening spent doing laundry and with the last shreds of summer sun coming through the windows, I finally decided to give Larceny & Old Lace a listen.

The first song that really caught my attention was “Go Away”, a definite change of gear from the preceding tracks “Hurricane” and “Trailer Park Boneyard.” Accented by simple hooky keyboards and built on a sweet breathy vocal, “Go Away” is what popped out at me and talked me into listening to Larceny & Old Lace more than once.

Albums are slow to grow on me, but on my second listen I noticed a lot of things that had escaped me the first time around and I think that with a few more listens, Larceny & Old Lace could certainly yield a summer jam or two.

The Coathangers’ powerful vocals and catchy keyboard remind me of the aforementioned Cadallaca, a perennial summer favorite and like Cadallaca’s album Introducing… Larceny & Old Lace is an album that seems to build in intensity with each subsequent listen. Songs like “Jaybird” and “Tabbacco Rd.” underscore the album with a darkness and a sadness that may not be apparent at first, but that ultimately adds a distinguishing richness to The Coathangers’ brand of hooky garage rock.

The Coathangers’ are currently touring in support of Larceny & Old Lace and will be at Cleveland’s own Now That’s Class this weekend on Sunday, June 26th.

You can support The Coathangers by picking up Larceny & Old Lace direct from their label, Suicide Squeeze.

For a taste of Larceny & Old Lace, check out this video for the album’s first track, “Hurricane.”

About K.

25 year old book, comic, zine, and record enthusiast. Favorite things include: 7"s, books about teen sleuths, and rabbits.
This entry was posted in suicide squeeze. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

