Allo Darlin’, Darren (Pre-Order)

So, as you’ve likely noticed, I’ve been maintaining radio (or internet or whatever) silence for the last few weeks. I know I made mention of the fact that this summer would be light on posting because I’m starting a new job and moving to a new apartment, but it turns out that the posting will be even lighter than I previously anticipated due to the fact that I’ll be embarking on an unscheduled second move. (It is a long story, but we can keep it short by just saying: roaches.) So, it will be about another two weeks before I have regular internet access and am able to hook my stereo up again in order to listen to (and, I guess, review) things. Sorry about that!

In the meantime, please content yourself with the fact that Allo Darlin’ are releasing their first new material since their self-titled album came out last June. Their Darren single features two new songs and will be pressed as a picture disc. The band is currently taking pre-orders via their bandcamp page, where you can stream the single’s a-side. I actually took a break from un-boxing, checking for roaches, and re-boxing all of my personal possessions so that I could order this. I was that excited.

While I don’t have anything else proper or informative to say about this, it can’t hurt to reiterate just how fond I am of Allo Darlin’. The band’s material has a real and solid sense of joy about it, but that joy is often tempered by a careful awareness of the sadness and challenges that people are often confronted by. It’s a difficult balance to portray without coming across as overly trite or sentimental, but Allo Darlin’s execution is beautiful every time. In fact, in the midst of the terrible series of weeks I’ve been having, I had the pleasure to be caught off-guard by hearing their cover of Bruce Springsteen’s “Atlantic City” on stonecoldbikini (every Saturday on 91.1fm, if you’re outside of their broadcast range you can always stream online at wruw.org) as I was about to pull into the driveway — instead, I drove around the block so that I could hear the entire song and the extra time in the car was more than worth it. Something about the work they produce leaves you with the sense that you are hearing exactly what you need to heard at exactly the moment you were meant to hear it. Divine musical providence.

So, order your single while you can — I’m sure this one will sell like hotcakes — and I’ll be back, hopefully in two weeks, with a fully functioning stereo and a roach-free living space.

P.S. I have one lonely invite for Spotify US, does anyone want it? Shoot me an e-mail at heysideponytail@gmail.com if you do! And just like that, the Spotify invite is spoken for! If I get any more, I’ll post them up as well.

About K.

25 year old book, comic, zine, and record enthusiast. Favorite things include: 7"s, books about teen sleuths, and rabbits.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

