Girls Talk

“Girls Talk,” Dave Edmunds

I haven’t been able to stop thinking about this song since I wrote (however briefly) about Rips back in October. I grew up on Dave Edmunds, Nick Lowe, and other power pop heroes. I can’t remember the first time I heard “Girls Talk,” but I know it was a fixture on the mix tapes my parents played in the car (alongside tracks from XTC, Pere Ubu, The Pretenders, Elvis Costello – it was a hook-laden childhood, let me tell you).

I know that, at some point, men talking about how mysterious and unknowable women are got to be both boring and insulting, but I haven’t outgrown “Girls Talk.”

About K.

25 year old book, comic, zine, and record enthusiast. Favorite things include: 7"s, books about teen sleuths, and rabbits.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

